top of page

2019 SoERC
State of Energy Research Conference

​​Wednesday 3 and Thursday 4 July 2019

Cultural Centre, Kambri Precinct 

The Australian National University, Canberra 

​ERICA hosted Australia's first two-day national research-only energy conference. 


The event included high-level plenary overviews with parallel invited talks, industry panel discussions and poster sessions.


SoERC covered all aspects of energy research ranging from fundamental science, engineering and technology, to the energy implementation disciplines of economics, regulation, security, sociology and policy.

The opening sessions for each day featured an address by prominent speakers from the energy sector:


  • Sarah McNamara, CEO of the Australian Energy Council (Wednesday)

  • Drew Clarke, Chair of the AEMO Board (Thursday)

Plenary speakers 

  • Professor Ross Garnaut, University of Melbourne (Energy Economics & Policy)

  • Professor Martin Green, UNSW (Renewable Electricity Generation)

  • Professor Maria Forsyth, Deakin University (Energy Storage)

  • Dr Lachlan Blackhall, ANU (Energy Systems)

  • Dr Chris Dunstan, UTS (Energy Usage and Demand Response)

  • Dr Bruce Mountain, Victoria University (Energy Regulation and Governance)

  • Professor Michael Brear, University of Melbourne (Transport and Industrial Energy)

  • Professor Peta Ashworth, University of Queensland (Fossil Fuels)

This inaugural stand-alone conference is aimed at key decision-makers in Federal and State government departments, key stakeholders in industry and NGOs, energy researchers and their students, as well as members of the wider community with an interest in the energy sector.

Proudly sponsored by:

Asset 1-100-.jpg

Media sponsor:

Australian Energy Daily Small.jpg
bottom of page