Keynote speakers

Minister Kean_WEB RES.png

Matt Kean

NSW Treasurer

Minister for Energy

Matt Kean entered Parliament in 2011 and spent his early years advocating for stronger mental health policy.  


Elevated to the NSW Cabinet in 2017, he was appointed Minister for Innovation and Better Regulation in 2017, then appointed Minister for Energy and Environment in 2019 and appointed Treasurer in 2021. 


His first Budget delivered reform to break the barriers to women’s opportunity – an investment that will pay dividends for both the economy and our society.  

In the 2022 Budget, he also drove education reforms to give NSW children the best start in life, cost of living relief for families across the State, and initiatives to help more people into homes.  


He intends to invest in our economy and our people today to deliver a stronger, more prosperous, more sustainable future tomorrow.   


An outspoken critic of ‘climate denialism’ he has campaigned for greater and national action on climate change, arguing it’s not only good for the environment but it’s also good for our economy.  


He has committed to increasing the size of the NSW National Park estate by almost 600,000 hectares by the end of 2022 and in 2020 delivered the biggest renewable energy policy in Australia’s history.  

MicrosoftTeams-image (3).png

Gabrielle Kuiper

Senior Advisor

Smart Energy Council

Gabrielle Kuiper is a DER Specialist and Senior Adviser to the Smart Energy Council. Dr. Gabrielle Kuiper is an energy, sustainability and climate change professional with over 20 years’ experience in the corporate world, government and non-government organisations and academia. She was previously the DER Strategy Specialist with the Energy Security Board.


Prior to that Dr. Kuiper held senior executive or senior advisory energy-related positions in the Office of the Australian Prime Minister, at the Public Interest Advocacy Centre (PIAC), and in the NSW Government. Dr. Kuiper currently works in climate philanthropy for an Australian charitable trust. 


Lynne Gallagher

Chief Executive Officer

Energy Consumers Australia

Lynne Gallagher is the Chief Executive Officer of Energy Consumers Australia, which is the national advocacy organisation contributing to shaping Australia’s energy future for households and small businesses.


Lynne has been with Energy Consumers Australia for 7 years and has over 20 years experience in the energy sector in strategy, policy and research roles. Prior to working in the energy sector, Lynne held senior executive roles in business and in the public sector, where she delivered major reforms that contributed to improving the financial and economic wellbeing of many Australians.

Danny Kennedy_WEB RES.png

Danny Kennedy

Chief Executive Officer

New Energy Nexus

Danny Kennedy is the CEO of New Energy Nexus (NEX). NEX is a global platform organisation for funds and incubators, with chapters and partners in the USA, China, Indonesia, Vietnam, Thailand, Australia, the Philippines, Uganda, Nigeria and India.


He oversees the CalSEED fund of $43 million for very early-stage companies driving innovation and building equity in the California economy plus the $12 million CalTestBed initiative with the University of California, Office of the President.


He is an adviser to several companies and is Chair of the Board of Third Derivative, a joint-venture with Rocky Mountain Institute building the world’s largest climate tech accelerator.